Thursday, 21 June 2012

ASTRA Awards 2012 - Sydney The tenth annual pay television gongs night recognises the talent and contributions that drive subscription television platforms and channels.

The ceremony will remain a tight theatre style show for the talent, production and best programming
categories of STV. Separately the ASTRA Industry Excellence Awards celebrate the technical,
marketing and promotional categories of STV and were presented at the annual ASTRA Conference.

Specific awards recognise channel programming and production, creative advertising and media, publicity and promotions, talent and contribution.

There are five major categories of awards: Platform Marketing; Program & Channel Promotion; Technology; Programming & Production; and Talent. There will also be the prestigious Channel of the Year Award and Subscribers' Choice Awards. There are also five subscribers' choice awards where the public determine the winners: Favourite Program - Australian; Favourite Program - International; Favourite Program - International Drama; Favourite Personality - Female and Favourite Personality - Male.

The nominees are:

Channel of the Year: The LifeStyle Channel, showcase, FOX SPORTS and SKY NEWS;

Favourite Personality - Male: Danny Clayton, Andrew Winter, Jason Dunstall, Andrew 'ET' Ettingshausen, Rove McManus, Billy Russell, Alex Perry and Phil Kearns;

Favourite Personality - Female: Jane Gazzo, Charlotte Dawson, Donna Hay, Sarah Murdoch, Megan Gale and Lee Furlong;

Favourite Program - AustralianFoo Fighters: Wasting Light On The Night; Wife Swap Australia; Selling Houses Australia Extreme; Spirited; Australia's Next Top Model; Project Runway, Kalgoorlie Cops and On the Couch;

Favourite Program - InternationalGrand Designs, Deadliest Catch, Big Fat Gypsy Weddings, The British Royal Wedding 2011, Gold Rush: Alaska, EastEnders, Man Vs. Wild and American Idol.

Sydney Theatre C Ltd, Pier 4, Hickson Road, Sydney
Date: Thursday, June 21, 2012