Thursday, 2 May 2013

Jonathan Biggins and Clare Bowditch to host 2013 APRA Music Awards!

Date, Venue and New Category Announced!

The Australasian Performing Right Association's flagship event, the APRA Music Awards, will be held on Monday June 17 at the Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre.
Hosted by Jonathan Biggins (arguably the Billy Crystal of Australian music award events) and the multi-talented Clare Bowditch, the 2013 APRA Music Awards marks the 31st year for this widely respected industry gala event, which celebrates the achievements of songwriters and composers over the previous twelve months.
The event will announce winners in the categories of: Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year, Most Played Australian Work, Most Played Australian Work Overseas, International Work of the Year, Country Work of the Year, Blues & Roots Work of the Year, Urban Work of the Year, Dance Work of the Year and Rock Work of the Year.
In response to feedback from members and the music industry, the APRA Board is pleased to announce a new award category this year: the Pop Work of the Year.
APRA CEO, Brett Cottle said, "The Pop Work of the Year Award will recognise excellence in songwriting in this popular, eclectic and now distinctive cross-over genre. Almost 65% of APRA members categorise themselves as songwriters in the Pop/Rock genre and songs that fit this category feature significantly in our own statistics and in recognised industry albums and singles charts. It's timely for our Music Awards to formally recognise and accommodate pop music as a genre in its own right and it will be an important milestone when we announce the first-ever winner in this category on June 17".
The 2013 APRA Music Awards will also present the recipients of the prestigious Songwriter of the Year Award, the Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music (as determined by the APRA Board of Writer and Publisher Directors) and the coveted peer-voted APRA Song of the Year.
APRA members have now nominated and narrowed down Song of the Year nominations to a shortlist of 30 contenders. This list showcases the best of the industry, featuring compositions by newcomers such as Flume, Matthew Colwell (360) and Courtney Barnett alongside established songwriters such as Kasey Chambers and Shane Nicholson, Sia Furler, Kevin Parker (Tame Impala), Missy Higgins, Grinspoon, Troy Cassar-Daley and Birds of Tokyo.
If you missed the Top 30 Shortlist for the APRA Song of the Year please click here.
The nominees for the 2013 APRA Music Awards will be revealed on Thursday May 23rd.
Song of the Year (voted by APRA Members)
Most Played Australian Work*
Most Played Australian Work Overseas*
International Work of the Year *
Pop Work of the Year*
Country Work of the Year*
Blues & Roots Work of the Year *
Urban Work of the Year*
Dance Work of the Year*
Rock Work of the Year*

The APRA Board of Writer and Publisher Directors determine the following:
Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year
Songwriter of the Year
Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music

*Determined by statistical analysis

For all information regarding category rules and eligibility please

Monday June 17th
Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre
Hosted by Jonathan Biggins and Clare Bowditch